Awards and Honors

2016 Fulbright Specialist in Public Administration at University of Santiago USACH, Chile

2009 Paul F. Lazarsfeld Evaluation Theory Award presented to an individual whose written work on evaluation theory has led to fruitful debates on the assumptions, goals, and practices of evaluation. Awarded based on Dr. Mertens’ contributions to theory in evaluation related to social transformation and evaluation’s role in that process

2007 Gallaudet University Distinguished Faculty Award, which recognizes an individual who exemplifies the stature of the entire university faculty

2004 American Evaluation Association’s Robert Ingle Award presented to a member of AEA who has been particularly instrumental in promoting the interests and operations of the American Evaluation Association. Awarded based on contributions to the Diversity Initiative and the launching of the International Organization for Cooperation in Evaluation